Cliff Cairns Award

Cliff was part of the Tasmanian carnival family for many years. He came to Carnival for one reason, not to play, Coach or referee, but to serve in whatever manner he could. The Cliff Cairns Award is given to a person who shows an outstanding commitment to serving God through serving people during The Australian Baptist Basketball Championships.

The award is given on an acknowledgement basis, it is not an annual award. On receipt of the award, the individual is regarded as a “life Member” of the ABBC.

YearLife Member
2017Jess Van Schie
2016Leigh Pennington
2015Nathan Strempel
Jay Sawyer
2013Jeff Andrews
2011Mark Townsend
2007Jon Dyer
2006Chris Hodge
2003Andy Stewart
2002Jill Andrews
John Morrhouse
2001Warren Andrews
1999Johanna Crinion
1998Steve O’Brien

Spirit of Carnival Award

This is an annual award that is given to someone who demonstrates the spirit of carnival throughout the week. It might be awarded for outstanding service, showing kindness, or another act that shows commitment to making Carnival great. If you see someone throughout the week that you think deserves this award you can nominate them by telling your state representative.

2017Mark Sytsma
2016Joshua Manthe
2015Karen Lierse